7 Quick Takes — A Hurry-Up Edition

Joining Jen with 7QTs

Friday startles me every week. I’m giving myself 30 minutes to finish these. (In case I need to say it, any Amazon links are affiliate.)

1)

Did you notice that I posted this week?  I did!  I did!  I’m thinking to do a link-up of meals we’ve taken and meals that we’ve received. Would you join?  Read here to see what I’m thinking. Won’t you weigh in?

we DO like to eat…

2)

In the aforementioned earlier post, I mentioned that I would be starting a Pinterest board of takeable meals.  You can find that new board here. On the subject of Pinterest…I’m reorganizing my Pinterest boards.  Because, you know, I might have (traces of) insanity.  Who in their right mind decides that their Pinterest boards are too cluttered?  No one in their right mind.  That’s who.

3)

One of my favorite bloggers is in the midst of a great cause. She is running to raise money and awareness for Spinal Muscular Atrophy. Go check out her fundraiser page and read about SMA; click around and read her family’s story.

What can you do to offer support?

4)

I know that, if you are reading this, you probably are aware that Pope Francis has called for a day of prayer and fasting for Syria. You can read his plea here. I’m guilty of playing the “I’m breastfeeding” (or “I’m pregnant”, when it applies) card.  So tomorrow, on 7 September 2013, this breastfeeding mama is cutting out “extracurricular” snacks and goodies as well as my coffee and cream.  How will you respond to the call for prayer and fasting?

5)

After mentioning A Mother’s Rule of Life: How to Bring Order to Your Home and Peace to Your Soul in my Five Favorites on WednesdayI started thinking: (Folks, I’m reawy, reawy great at starting thinking!) I love sharing books.  I often buy multiple copies of my favorites that have helped me and inspired me and pass them along when I come across someone who wants to read them. In this phase of life, we really have to watch our spending (and the funnynotfunny thing about watching my spending is that I get less and less to watch because I become more and more aware how lucygoosy I am about it) but I am finding myself still wanting to share my favorites.  Wouldn’t a book swap be fun? Along the lines of paperbackswap.com, but on a smaller scale?  I know many of us read similar blogs, and how fun would it be to write your name in a book, send it along to another blogger, who can read it, write their name in it, and pass it along?  I make little notes in my books (courtesy of my Grandmother who always thought it appropriate to write in a book so long as one was not earmarking pages).  I love to read the notes others have written.  And I think it would be so fun to see the list of bloggers who are sharing the books.  Et toi? (And, Rosie, this is my roundabout way of asking you to PM me your address so I can send you my copy…)

6)

I’m struggling with hobbies. Namely, I get a little distracted in life, and I truly enjoy learning new hobbies.  But I tend to pile on too many new ones.  This week, after finishing up my Photoshop 101 class for nicolesclasses.com, I decided that I reallyreallyreally want to learn about Illustrator.  In another, more talented, life, I would have loved to pursue a career in design.  Alas, I lack the detail-orientedness and general talent in that direction.  Right now I try to juggle photography, learning about photoshop, various online classes, blogging, occasionally sewing, reading…and ukelele.  I just love that last one.  But I love them all.  The wise Jennifer Fulwiler once wrote…somewhere…that she had to learn to NOT pick up too many hobbies, because there was no way balance it all (badly paraphrased, my apologies, Jen, I can’t remember what post that was in). I’m guilty of chasing after a new thing with the attention span of a squirrel.  And I WONDER why my house and brain get too cluttered!

7)

One of my little guys got a bee sting last week. I felt like mentioning it because a) I didn’t blog about it and b) another of my favorite bloggers mentioned a bee sting. Of course she mentioned LAST week in her 7QTs LAST week.  But I got behind in reading and only read it yesterday.  So.  You know.  Important.  Anyhooooo….I bring this all up because it was our family’s first bee sting.  (In the interest of disclosure, apparently my husband got stung several times as a youth.  But I have never been stung.  So…it’s all about moi.) My heart sorta broke for my son because I had just told him, “Don’t bother them, and they won’t bother you.” And so there he was…not bothering a bee…and the bee stung him.  While he was trying to shield his little sister from bugs and bees.  So he cried.  I mighta cried.  We googled (“how to take care of a bee sting”).  And everyone lived to tell the tale.

a spider…

As a side note: I felt more than a little guilty that I could not sympathize with bee sting pain. However every. living. spider. on the block seems to be finding me and biting me.  So I’m a gonna call it somewhat even.

~~~

That’s all she wrote, folks. Don’t ask me why I want to end every post with that, feeling slightly clever until I realize I am totally unoriginal.

10 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes — A Hurry-Up Edition

  1. I learned Illustrator in grad school to make scientific posters. It’s cool but has a STEEP learning curve and I wanted to smash my laptop while learning it. So be patient and don’t work on things with deadlines. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the shout out!
    And I completely relate to the hobbies predicament. I just finally had to pick one and go with it because I was leaving too many half completed projects (or gifts) lying around.

  3. I think a book swap is an awesome idea!!! There are so many books I want to read that aren’t available at the library and I really don’t want to pay so much for something I’ll probably only read once…

    Also, I’m terrible about taking meals to people – I keep WANTING to, but then everybody has babies and they’re dairy-free or gluten-free or I have too many babies of my own and need to cook for US… But I think it would be a great resource!

Leave a Reply

