7 Quick Takes: Feeding the Hungry

Linking up with Jen today QUICKLY to shine a little light on a (*ahem*) totally unlinked to link up, the How to Feed a Friend Link-Up. So, self promotion and all that being what it is, I’m now using a link up to shed light on the fact that I’m linking to my own link up. How embarrassing. But I have no shame.

1.  A few days ago, I noticed that Jen insta’d a picture of a menu of a meal she took to a friend. Which made me think about my neglected little link-up. Linking up with Meals Taken, Meals Received can be as easy as that, just snapping a picture. I love seeing the ideas others have for taking meals.

So…have you taken a meal? Received a meal? Snap a quick photo and do a quick write up and then link-a-doodle-do! It’s not bragging…it’s sharing ideas, because people like me need all the inspiration we can get!

2.  A new friend of mine has a new little one in addition to a toddler.  So a few weeks ago (before the plague hit my house) I took a simple meal over. I took my inspiration from a meal that a friend brought to us when Amélie was born, simple chicken with a bottle of BBQ sauce. I used to HATE BBQ sauce. But when my friend brought plain chicken with a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray’s on the side, my postpartum taste buds decided that this crack in a bottle would taste good on everything. Everything. Lara, if you ever read this, you started an addiction…

3.  I kept this meal embarrassingly simple and added a pack of steam in the bag frozen veggies. In the hopes that this would be toddler-friendly. I’ve never used these, so I’m hoping these worked out.

4.  For various reasons, I don’t usually gift alcohol. Instead, I included a bottle of Martinelli’s. Because new babies are always a cause for celebration. And Martinelli’s screams, “SPECIAL OCCASION!!!” to me.

5.  I am pretty much in love with Kind bars AND Über bars. I kept these around because postpartum and nursing metabolism catches my blood sugar off guard, and I can go from “fine” to “not fine” really easily. The Über bars were on sale, so I added these in and also some kid snack bars because I know it’s tough to have a hungry toddler when mama is busy figuring out a feeding schedule.

6.  These particular friends are also from the Portland, OR area, so I picked this chocolate bar with that detail in mind.

7.  Kinda the most important part: baked chicken breast, very lightly seasoned, in a disposable container. Last thing I’d want to do is add dish and return duty to their plate.

I snapped this photo just seconds before leaving. But I PROMISE there is chicken under that steamed-up lid!

Ta-da! Embarrassingly simple but this is something I challenge myself to do (and actually DO it and not just relegate it to the land of good intentions) now because I have experienced the love that poured through all the meals we have been blessed to receive ourselves. What little touches do you add to taken meals? What little touches have you appreciated? Go link up!

5 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes: Feeding the Hungry

  1. I love Martinelli’s so (SO SO SO) much! I need to write a post on this, too – I’m actually kind of a jerk and a picky eater so I don’t really like having meals brought to us (although sometimes it works out), but I just made a huge amount of food for my mom!

  2. Hmm, if your link-up stays open for the next year maybe I can get my act together and take a meal to someone! 🙂 Also, I’ve used those steam fresh packs to use in a quiche- best invention ever. And I’m w/ Rosie- Martinelli’s is SO so good, and one of my very favorite drinks!

  3. I just had a baby and we’ve had over a dozen meals brought to us and I also (OK, not *right now* as I’m still postpartum) volunteer for our church’s meals ministry. I will be coming back to link up, but it probably won’t be until after Christmas. Great idea!

  4. I just thought I should tell you that yesterday I brought a meal to a friend, and I used pretty much all of your ideas in this post (minus the chocolate). So thank you for sharing this!!!

Leave a Reply

