Losing Jesus

It was one of those chest-tightening days.  Too much to do. Not enough time. Myriads of unfinished to-do lists running through my head. Scattered ends. Lost beginnings. Can’t find Jesus. Can’t make my brain stop long enough to listen to see if He is there. You know the days.

Finally, finally at the end, I escaped out the front door with my running shoes on my feet and my dog on the end of his leash and my running rosary around my wrist.

He’s a good running buddy, this dog of mine. He hates running. Well…he loves it, but he hates that we keep going. So he stops to pee a lot. Which gives me a chance to catch my breath all the while making a big show of stopping for the dog. So he can pee. I mean, I would keep running without stopping. Obviously.

So we run and pray and pee, he and I.  Well, he pees and I pray.

Duccio_di_Buoninsegna_Finding Jesus In the Temple
{Duccio di Buoninsegna}

And thereabouts the fifth joyful mystery, as the noise in my brain is starting to ebb away and the joy is starting to creep in, the edges of a realization started to creep in. And as my dog and I slowed for yet another pee/breath break, I realized that reconversion and reversion and finding Jesus is nothing new under the sun. Mary and Joseph lost Jesus in the bustle of daily life and the hustle of not-so-daily-life while traveling. They, too, had to backtrack to find Jesus, right where they left him, right where he was supposed to be.

As far as the Bible tells us, Mary and Joseph only lost Jesus once. And I seem to lose him on a daily basis. And sometimes, I’m ashamed to say, I’m too lazy or mad or stubborn to give over my precious to-do list to back track to find him. Or – worse – I don’t even realize he is missing.

I guess this isn’t an “I found Jesus” post or “7 Steps so that you, too, can find Jesus” post. It’s just a reminder that I am pretty sure I will need to remember someday. A string around my finger. That Jesus is probably quite used to being lost. Seeing as, you know, his Mom and Dad lost him and all. And that he doesn’t get tired of being found if it brings us to where he is being about his father’s business.

One thought on “Losing Jesus

  1. That Mystery is hands-down my favorite. I love Jesus all the time, and I’m so glad I can turn around and find Him. What strikes me too is that Joseph and Mary found Him in the temple. And I never fail to find Him in a Church. Coincidence? I think not.

    Thanks for sharing your lovely thoughts, Maia!

Leave a Reply

